How to Make Google Chrome Forget a Permanent HTTP 301 Redirect
October 06, 2021

During web development and testing you might need to setup redirections from one domain name or URL to another. Google Chrome will cache those redirects for a long time and if you need to change them you'll need to clear the HTTP 301 redirections first and then setup new ones if still needed.

Below we present three methods you can use to clear the redirections cache from the Google Chrome browser.

Disabling cache temporarily via developer tools

This is the easiest method and targets only the redirect you want to remove.

  1. Open a new tab
  2. Open the Chrome developer tools in that new tab (Easiest way is to press F12 on your keyboard)
  3. Go to the network tab and tick the disable cache checkbox (Disables cache while devtools are open)
  4. Navigate to the link you no longer want to have redirected while keeping the dev tools open
  5. The redirect for that link is now cleared from the cache of Google Chrome
  6. Untick the disable cache checkbox cause it's no longer needed and close the dev tools

Preserving logs and clearing via developer tools

If the first method doesn't work for you, try this more elaborate one which also deletes a specific 301 redirect only.

  1. Open a new tab
  2. Open the Chrome developer tools (F12)
  3. Go to the network tab and tick the preserve log checkbox
  4. Navigate to the link you no longer want to have redirected while keeping the dev tools open
  5. Right click the request that results in the 301 redirect and click clear browser cache
  6. Untick the preserve log checkbox and close the dev tools

Fully clear your browser cache

In case the above methods don't work for you, you might want to just clear the whole cache of Google Chrome. Please make sure you have nothing in your history for example that you want to preserve before proceeding.

Go to settings, privacy and security, and then click clear browsing data, select advanced, and clear everything. If you've just followed the redirect, you only need to delete data from the past hour for example.

Alternatively, from now on, make sure to test and develop in incognito mode as the cache will be flushed after the browser is closed in that case.

Happy coding!

 


Development

Share this post


Written by
Mario Awad

Founder of SOFTKUBE, lead developer, and getting things done addict. Passionate about open source, user interface design, business development, and the tech world.

More about Mario Awad


About
SOFTKUBE

A small team of experts developing simple, usable, and high-quality web solutions. We blog about business, entrepreneurship, web development, and technology.

More about us


Recent Posts

How to Make Google Chrome Forget a Permanent HTTP 301 Redirect

Finding and Fixing Unintended Body Overflow to Remove Horizontal Scrollbars

Responsive Logo Design Overview

How to Disable Open File Security Warnings on Windows by File Type

View all posts


All Posts Categories

Business Cheat Sheets CLI Design Development Downloads Drupal Email Google Apps HID Keyboards Multilingualism Open Source Philosophy PHP Pointing Devices Productivity Quotes Science Security SEO Technology Thoughts Windows Zend Framework